Last Friday…


my dad suffered a severe stroke followed by an epileptic fit.

My parents were on their way back from holiday and had just stopped off for a break. When they went for a walk prior to getting back into the camper van, my father suddenly lost complete orientation. He did not have any typical symptoms associated with a stroke or fit.

My mum tried to contact me on my mobile but my phone is on silent at work so I called her back exactly 3 min after she tried to get hold of me – no answer.

Then my eldest mailed me asking what was wrong, his grand kept trying to call him although she knows that he is in university and can´t take calls there. Again, when he tried to call her back – no answer.

I then called my brothers workplace, I was told he´d left work with his colleague (it´s my brothers company).
So I asked for my brothers mobile number (more on that later) and called him.

Turns out that my mum, as she could not get hold of me or my son, flagged down a stranger and asked him to google my brothers company (arrrrgh, WE put all our phone numbers into her mobile). She then called him, told him near hysterical that my father was “weired” and not reacting, not knowing where he was etc…. She told him at which rest place they were and then got cut off because HER ACCU WAS FLAT. I refrain from using swearwords here.

It took my brother two hours to get there, all the while not knowing the state my dad was in and if my mum had called an ambulance – which she hadn´t!

Upon arrival, he called and said that my dad seemed better and that he would bring him home for us to take to a hospital.

Another two hours of driving home, my dad looked ok but clearly seemed disoriented. He was responding to questions so upon arrival at the local hospital, the doctor listened to what my mum, my eldest son and I had to say, then took a look at my dad´s medical history on his PC and said” he´s dehydrated, been here before with dehydration”.
He did not pay much attention to my mum stating that she´d made sure that my dad had enough to drink, just repeated “he´s been here before”. So I asked if he could be sure to rule out a stroke and he said “YES!”.

So they put my dad on a drip, left us to sit in the waiting room for 2 hours and then sent us home.

He was clearly still dis-orientated but we were hoping that by the following morning, after having been on the drip and a good night sleep he would be back to normal.

I am your average wife,mother,friend,employee....a bit lost in my world, a bit crazy at times but always good for a laugh - I think ;-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Randomness
5 comments on “Last Friday…
  1. Sending concerned thoughts your way.

    Like

feel free to comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

free counters
Blog Stats
  • 4,137 hits
Check this out :-)
Archives
Categories
ordnungsliebe

Familie - Haushalt - Ordnung - Dekoration

Mutter.Mit.Kind

Hinfallen - Aufstehen - Krone richten - weitergehen

ab jetzt frei

...freiheit durch erkenntniss

mutterseelesonnig

Mutterseele, allein aber auf der sonnigen Seite

Chaos Mama

wie ich durch's Leben stolper

Mein Herz träumt vom Meer

...vom Leben, Träumen und der Liebe

Dr. Alexandra Widmer

Just another WordPress.com site

Mama arbeitet

Alleinerziehend und berufstätig

Mama motzt

Im Beruf soll Mama (total alleinerziehend) ihre Kinder nicht erwähnen, der Umgangs-Papa bekommt Credits dafür!

Comfortably Numb

Two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl

One Man's Search for Peace

Father of eight trying to find his way.

zeroptions

Personal Journal of Brett Slade

i like margarine

accessories sold separately

Copy?

Watching life as a husband, father, pastor, and software engineer.

The Rookie Dad

New Challenges. New Lessons. New Pot of Coffee.

