A bloggers delight – taken with a pinch of salt


picture courtesy of:face-port.com

I like blogging, I guess it´s got something to do with the fact that I love reading and I love to hear about other people’s lives.

Tonight, I´ve had a look at the blogs I follow, there are a variety of blogs, all with completely different motives. All of those contribute to my life in one way or another, they help to put my life into prospective when I am down, they make me smile and I have received some really nice/helpful/honest comments, thank you.
One blog however remains a mystery to me. The publisher has asked his fellow bloggers to post links of female dating sites to him, preferably of women over the age of ?36?. At first I thought it was more of a joke but these people really “comment” on those women’s profiles – note I have put the word comment in brackets, I hope you understand my meaning.
Now far is it for me to criticise or judge the motives behind these men but it does make me wonder how women are looked upon by men these days. And before all of you decent honest nice guys out there get your wires crossed, I am not implying that you look upon us “girls” in any kind of negative way, I am merely wondering about a minority of you.
What do single men look for in a women, regardless of age now?
Most of us girls work either full-or part-time, admittedly, we are not as easily smitten than maybe 20 or so years ago, we like to pay our own way, we are sometimes opinionated, often downright pig-headed (I am speaking for myself, of course) but does that make us any less of a women?
Are there really men out there who still believe that a woman´s place is in the kitchen only?
What gives these men the right to slag those women’s profiles and ultimately, the women themselves down and I MEAN slagging them down some terribly?
Unfortunately, not being single and not looking either, I can not access the most frequently published dating site on this blog, nor would I want to create a bogus account for this purpose – gosh, can you imagine they´d pull up my profile and rip it to bits? Have these men been hurt so badly that they have lost all face in the other gender? Or do they feel intimidated, thus boosting their ego by making fun of the profiles?
Admittedly, reading some of the profiles put on the blog makes me wonder what these women are on but hey, everyone to themselves and I strongly believe that everything written on dating sites has to be taken with a pinch of salt anyway.

On the other hand, I have come across the most interesting blogs written by what seems to me really genuine people, some of which I can relate to very much. I am pleased that these people share parts of their life with me – not in person of course – and sometimes I wish, depending on the blog and the situation that I could just beam myself across if only to shake their hands or to give them a wee hug, if needed.

So, no offence to the one particular blog I have written about, whatever tickles your fancy and thanks again to all of you for enriching my life, one way or another.

I am your average wife,mother,friend,employee....a bit lost in my world, a bit crazy at times but always good for a laugh - I think ;-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in My take on:
2 comments on “A bloggers delight – taken with a pinch of salt
  1. Rob Harrison says:

    I’d be tickled to see if those men ripping on women were really pseudo-profiles set-up by other men. I know it happens, as I live in a small town, like really small, and the ads on some sites have all these single women from where I live that want to meet with me. First, I know these women don’t live here. Second, they obviously have no clue who I am as I’m old enough to be friends with or their dad.

    That being said, I oft wonder if men need to look in first before trying to figure out what they want in a partner. I’m just learning to do that myself….

    Like

  2. Green Thumb Mama says:

    This made me laugh. I mean…what the crap? So nuts. My friend who is single is wondering if there are any decent men in the world anymore….after this, I wonder? LOL.

    Like

feel free to comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

free counters
Blog Stats
  • 4,130 hits
Check this out :-)
Archives
Categories
ordnungsliebe

Familie - Haushalt - Ordnung - Dekoration

Mutter.Mit.Kind

Hinfallen - Aufstehen - Krone richten - weitergehen

ab jetzt frei

...freiheit durch erkenntniss

mutterseelesonnig

Mutterseele, allein aber auf der sonnigen Seite

Chaos Mama

wie ich durch's Leben stolper

Mein Herz träumt vom Meer

...vom Leben, Träumen und der Liebe

Dr. Alexandra Widmer

Just another WordPress.com site

Mama arbeitet

Alleinerziehend und berufstätig

Mama motzt

Im Beruf soll Mama (total alleinerziehend) ihre Kinder nicht erwähnen, der Umgangs-Papa bekommt Credits dafür!

Comfortably Numb

Two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl

One Man's Search for Peace

Father of eight trying to find his way.

zeroptions

Personal Journal of Brett Slade

i like margarine

accessories sold separately

Copy?

Watching life as a husband, father, pastor, and software engineer.

The Rookie Dad

New Challenges. New Lessons. New Pot of Coffee.

