a quiet thought for all the one´s out there


Yesterday I “rambled” on about my doctor’s appointment and how disappointed/scared I was afterwards.

I still am but I am trying to put it into proportions for the time being until I know for sure if I have this illness or not.

However, upon walking the dog this morning I realized how lucky I am after all.

When you enter an illness in google, all sorts of websites come up, including forums. I read up a lot about this illness in the past couple of days and all in all, I think one should spare a thought for all the people out there who are ill, be it with this illness or any other.

It is scary to think how many people are battling with cancer and or other life threatening illnesses and even if they are not immediately live threatening, any illness changes the person’s life, as well as their families and friends.

One of my sons was born with congenital talipes equinovarus, commonly known as club foot. We were told at 28 weeks, during a routine scan and they said that he might be severely mentally or physically handicapped. Luckily, this was not the case, he received treatment, had an operation and all is well at the moment. But during his excessive treatment at the hospital, I met a lot of people who were not as lucky. Their children were handicapped for life, restricted in their movements or confined to a wheelchair. One young mother who also knew that she was carrying a child with club foot found out after his birth that he had a very rare condition which prevented him from breathing properly. He died at the age of 9 months and I still remember how helpless I felt, thinking that by some bizarre coincident, it was her child with the illness and (thank God) not mine. I often wondered if she, in turn, looked at us and thought – why, where is the justice in that?

My eldest went to the funeral of his 22-year-old class mate last week. He was shell-shocked, could not express his disbelieve at how such a healthy young man could be diagnosed and subsequently died within the space of less than a year. I dread to think how his family feels, the anguish they must be going through right now and for the rest of their life.

I am sure we all know someone who is or has been going through a similar experience.

I am a registered bone marrow donor, I have never been called upon and I was beginning to wonder if I ever will. All my friends and family are registered and last week my pal told me that her husband is undergoing medical checks as he might be a match for a bone marrow transplant. I pray to God that it will work so that at least one person and his/her family out there will be able to look forward to the future.

I am your average wife,mother,friend,employee....a bit lost in my world, a bit crazy at times but always good for a laugh - I think ;-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Randomness

feel free to comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

free counters
Blog Stats
  • 4,128 hits
Check this out :-)
Archives
Categories
ordnungsliebe

Familie - Haushalt - Ordnung - Dekoration

Mutter.Mit.Kind

Hinfallen - Aufstehen - Krone richten - weitergehen

ab jetzt frei

...freiheit durch erkenntniss

mutterseelesonnig

Mutterseele, allein aber auf der sonnigen Seite

Chaos Mama

wie ich durch's Leben stolper

Mein Herz träumt vom Meer

...vom Leben, Träumen und der Liebe

Dr. Alexandra Widmer

Just another WordPress.com site

Mama arbeitet

Alleinerziehend und berufstätig

Mama motzt

Im Beruf soll Mama (total alleinerziehend) ihre Kinder nicht erwähnen, der Umgangs-Papa bekommt Credits dafür!

Comfortably Numb

Two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl

One Man's Search for Peace

Father of eight trying to find his way.

zeroptions

Personal Journal of Brett Slade

i like margarine

accessories sold separately

Copy?

Watching life as a husband, father, pastor, and software engineer.

The Rookie Dad

New Challenges. New Lessons. New Pot of Coffee.

